Pennard Vets - Tonbridge

Website: http://www.pennardvetgroup.co.uk
Email: eton@pennardvetgroup.co.uk
Tel: 01732 352004

Eton Place
31 London Road
Tonbridge
Kent TN10 3AB

Map

 

Practice Details

Welcome to Pennard Vets - Small animal veterinary practices in Sevenoaks, Borough Green, Tonbridge and Maidstone, offering a full range of pet services. We believe in preventative medicine, but, when your pet becomes ill, Pennard Vets prides istelf on offering the latest equipment and techniques to help find out the problem quickly and effectively.

Average Rating

Pennard Vets - Tonbridge Based on 12 rating(s)s
4.6
Best possible rating: 5
Average rating: 4.6
Write a review - click here

Vet Practice Reviews

Reviewed by: Louise on 18/06/2016

Overall rating:

5

“Thank you for helping us through some tricky times”

We have been at Pennards for a long time and have always found the help, advice and support amazing and highly professional.They are a really friendly team and we have got to know them really well over the years. One of our Labs Ellie has had various serious issues and we've had some important decisions to make. The advice they gave us was always professional and also practical and helped us make the right choice of treatment that was needed. She was a dog of many lives and every time they kept us in touch and were so caring. The whole team knew her and every time we are in there were lots of cuddles! They all care so much and in the last few weeks of her life we had phone calls checking how she was and you knew they would do anything to help. People say they are expensive but they have an excellent Pet Plan which helps spreads costs out and I wouldn't compromise my animals care for anything.Thank you for all you do :)

 

Reviewed by: Sarah J on 21/03/2016

Overall rating:

5

“Thank you for helping Sydney with his various health problems over the years”

Having been a customer of Pennards initially in Sevenoaks since 1988, we moved to Tonbridge nine years ago and have been with Tonbridge Pennards since moving here. Sydney has had various health issues, and all the team at Pennards have been great in helping him get through them. A huge thank you from Sydney and I, for such a great service, always friendly, helpful, accommodating and professional, thank you all of you.

 

Reviewed by: Andy L on 25/02/2016

Overall rating:

2.4

“Pennards Tonbridge: Enough to put you off keeping pets!”

I have been taking my pets to this practice for 20 years. Long before they became part of the Pennard Partnership. I love my dogs and will always do anything for them, however, I am not prepared to be ripped off because of my love for them.
My Spaniel picked up a nasty stomach upset and became dehydrated and so we, rightly, took him to the vet. They also rightly assessed that he should be kept in and put on an IV to rehydrate him. For the examination and a night in a cage with a drip, they have charged me £389.60! This included £99 for the overnight stay (He was checked once at 10pm)! I have just returned from a stay in a premier inn and I can get a nice room and cooked breakfast for 2 of us and still have change for the price they have charged me for a cage! I was charged £7.38 for 6 Ranitidine tablets that I can buy without prescription for 49p! £12.65 for the IV solution that I can buy (not in bulk) for £4.75. I could go all the way through their invoice but I don't want to bore!
I mentioned my disappointment when I came to pay the bill but they really didn't give a damn so that is why I feel the need to let others know. I have no issue with people earning a living but I cannot abide greed. I am upset that after 20 years I am going to have to move but I have been recommended another local practice where the care and attention is at least as good but the prices are respectable.
It is also rare now to see the same vet twice so it seems as if they are going through a few of them too. It is such a shame.

Caroline Collins BVetMed MRCVS
Veterinary Director

Thank you for letting us know of your experience with us. Whilst we are pleased to learn that you were satisfied with our clinical care of your pet, we are disappointed to learn that you were unhappy with the costs you incurred, estimates for treatment are given before it is instigated. We always recognise that people have a choice of who they trust to care for their pets, and we strive every day to do the very best we can for a fair price for all our clients. Our prices reflect the realities of providing the high level of service we do, as well as the different legislation that for example applies to supplying medication to animals compared to humans. We would be more than happy to speak to you about your concerns in detail if you would like to.

 

Reviewed by: Alice on 19/10/2015

Overall rating:

4.8

“Tonbridge Pennard Vets Practice”

Having recently undertaken work experience here (and being a regular customer) I cannot stress enough how lovely and friendly all of the staff are. Highly professional and always have our pets needs at heart. The staff get to know you and your pets personally in order to make the most accurate diagnosis for your animal. All the nurses are so inviting that our dogs now enjoy and even look forward to coming to the vets for their monthly weight and health checks! The vets are also highly skilled and we have placed our trust in them multiple times for procedures and have never been let down or disappointed with the treatments. Would never hesitate to recommend this practice and the staff within it.

 

Reviewed by: The BT pack on 25/06/2015

Overall rating:

5

“Warm welcome”

Over the years Pennards have helped look after various issues with all of my dogs.
The services they have been able to offer have helped with avoiding going to other referral practices and meant i can deal with it at my own vets. They all care and do a great job and wouldn't have it any other way.
Thanks Pennards :-)

 

Reviewed by: Ian & Mr Pickles on 16/05/2014

Overall rating:

5

“Thanks to Caroline”

Just wanted to say many thanks to Caroline whom I saw today with my cat. Professional and knowledgeable, yet friendly too as always. Many thanks - Ian and Mr Pickles ! XX

 

Reviewed by: Andy on 09/03/2014

Overall rating:

5

“Thank you for helping me look after my old dog”

This week my old dog was not very well, he is in his twilight years and every extra day is precious. My family have used Pennard Vets for many years and have found the service to be fantastic. The clinic has modernised and offers the latest treatments. In an emergency or when I have been worried it has always been possible to speak to or see someone who can reassure us. This week my old boy was not himself, with the vets help we decided on a treatment plan which suited the circumstances. We can trust the whole clinic to do the best for us at what is going to be a difficult time.

 

Reviewed by: Disgruntled ex-customer on 02/03/2014

Overall rating:

2.4

“Driven by profit, not aninal need”

We were with this practice when it was Eton Vets. They were always one of the more expensive vets in the area, however they did appear to be driven by what's best for the animals. Since it was taken over by this chain we have witnessed a steady decline so it now appears to be driven by what's best for our profits, irrespective of what the animal may or may not need. That includes unnecessary visits/re-visits, blood tests, etc, etc all at highly inflated prices.
Given the medical history of one of our pets we were reluctant to change vets. Having now done so we only wish we had done it a lot earlier. The new practice, and their approach, has highlighted just how bad Pennard has come. So based on comparing our experiences over a long period of time, and with different practices, is unless you have very, very deep pockets and don't mind causing your pets unnecessary stress, avoid this chain at all costs.

Pennard Vets

We are sorry to hear that you have not been happy with our service recently. Eton Vets has been part of Pennard Vets for over 10 years with the same long standing and well respected values unchanged. Our priority has always and will always be our patients and their best interests and offering the right approach for them after informed discussions with their owners. We would always encourage any feedback on concerns with any aspect of our service, so that we can discuss it in full and make any improvements necessary. We would invite you to speak to our senior vets so that we may investigate where you feel we have let your down. Please contact the practice at your earliest convenience.

 

Reviewed by: Jessica on 05/08/2013

Overall rating:

5

“Big Thank you to Pennard Vets in Tonbridge”

I would just like to say a big thank you to Pennard Vets in Tonbridge. I know for my mum who regularly visits with our puppy Ozzie, and previously with our old doggie Marley, the support from the team at Pennards is unrivalled. A friendly, caring, educational and warm culture at the vets means that nothing is ever a problem. Most recently, when Ozzie decided to escape and go on his own adventure, the quick response from the vets was comforting until he was found! I would highly recommend Pennard vets to anyone with a pet who is apart of your family. Keep up the good work!

 

Reviewed by: Jo on 20/05/2013

Overall rating:

5

“Bailey survived thanks to the care from Pennards”

Bailey back in January had a very bad car accident. His tail came clean off and a few times nearly did not make it. The whole staff took Bailey on like he was theirs and made him better. After all Bailey went through he loves going and seeing the staff. He really was looked after with the highest level of care. Bailey is now 16th months and is still a lovely caring dog who's accident has not changed him. Well apart from no tail!