Goddard Veterinary Group - Wanstead Veterinary Hospital

Website: www.goddardvetgroup.co.uk
Tel: 020 8989 7744

84 New Wanstead
London E11 2SY

Click to view bigger version



Practice Details

  • Open 24 hours a day, 365 days of the year
  • Accredited under the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons Practice Standards Scheme
  • Fully equipped with the latest medical and surgical facilities
  • Referral services including Diagnostic Imaging, Neurology, Ophthalmology, Dermatology and Hydrotherapy offered within the group
  • Free pre vaccination consultations and health checks for registered pets at six and nine months of age

Average Rating

Goddard Veterinary Group - Wanstead Veterinary Hospital Based on 29 rating(s)s
Best possible rating: 5
Average rating: 4.6
Write a review - click here

Vet Practice Reviews

Reviewed by: Leo's owner on 03/10/2015

Overall rating:


“Thank you ”

This practice will always be to me a very special place. Having taken my dear dog Leo every week for the last 6 months for his chemotherapy, their care and professional approach always made such a difference to a difficult time. Leo loved everyone there and would always be happy to visit for the day. I'm glad he didn't associate feeling rough the next day with his visit.
Sadly Leo didn't make it and I'm eternally grateful to the hospital for making a really tough decision a little more manageable with such care and compassion for my dear sweet dog.
I will miss him and our regular visits
Thank you Goddards Wanstead for everything


Reviewed by: Donna Benkhedda on 09/09/2015

Overall rating:



I brought my beautiful moggy cat to this vet since 2005 when we got him as a kitten. He turned 10yrs old in the summer. We would take him to Goddards for an annual check up which we thought we were doing right by our cat looking after him well. They would give him an immunisation every year behind his neck (I never knew why as cats from my childhood never had this done). A few weeks ago we noticed lumps behind his neck and not realising how serious it was took him to another vet that was more affordable. It turns out he had cancer and 4 days later the tumor went into his spine and half his body was paralysed - we had to make the hardest decision to put him down rather than let him suffer and say goodbye. They said it can't be proven but usually when cats get cancer it comes up where they had been injected with immunisations and it's safer to inject them in the leg so they can have the leg amputated to save their life. I have now been told that cats only need immunisations once in their life time. I know they say there's no connection to the immunisations/injections but that's proof enough for me to blame this vets for immunising my cat for pure greed not for the well being of my cat who died at 10yrs. My whole family are devastated as we had such a special bond with him and he was always lavished with love and attention! I expected at least 15/20yrs from this moggy cat who was much loved and such a beautiful character. I would never recommend this vet or any other vet who immunises cats for no reason at all but to fill their own pockets. I let my cat down by bringing him for his annual check up...I will never forgive myself for this!

Tom Flynn
Clinical Director, Goddard Veterinary Group

We were very sorry to hear about your cat's condition and do sympathise with you on the loss of an obviously greatly loved family member. Our records show that you have not been seen at our practice since 2012 and this makes it very difficult to make any specific comments. Vaccination against the various forms of feline influenza, enteritis and leukaemia are very important in protecting millions of cats every year from the incredible suffering which these diseases bring and this is why we strongly recommend it. Very rarely, cats may develop tumours at the site of trauma or inflammation and tumours at the site of injections can occur, but with a frequency estimated to be between 1 per 10 000 to 30 000 vaccinations administered. Annual check-ups are the best way to ensure pets health in order to provide protection against infectious disease and to identify illnesses at the earliest stages possible so maximising the chances of successful treatment


Reviewed by: Leece on 07/09/2015

Overall rating:



Visited Goddards in Wanstead tonight and was approached by, I can only explain as someone who was quite rude on reception. 'X'. I asked if I could buy a couple of sachets of food and they asked me if I had ordered them. I said no, they then said well you should really order as we use what we have for animals in the hospital. I was then asked for my pets name and address and told on several attempts of them putting my information in, I wasn't on the system. Eventually she found me but said she had the spelling of my pets name down differently to what I had given.......I had never had any problem with my pet being found previously? This person then went off and came back and said there wasn't any food on site. I was a little concerned as if my pet was in hospital and needed feeding would be a little worried if no food was available. I came away feeling very upset and dissapointed in the way I was treated. After spending little under 1400.00.

Ellie Stock-Bishop
Hospital Manager - Goddard Veterinary Group

I was very sorry to hear that you felt that the service which you received recently was disappointing and that we did not have available the particular type of food which you required. I thank you for providing the feedback which has been discussed with the member of staff involved. We do stock a lot of veterinary prescription and life stage diets, both to feed our inpatients and also for over the counter sales. There is such a wide range of products on the market though that we do not have the space to stock them all, as does a pet food store, and therefore have to ask clients to pre order certain less common food so that it is guaranteed to be available for them to collect at their convenience. I am sorry that you were not assisted in a more helpful manner and would very much like to discuss your concerns further. I would appreciate a call to discuss how we might help you in the future and I look forward to hearing from you


Reviewed by: Greg on 15/08/2015

Overall rating:



Summer my jack russel is being treated for epilepsy for over a year now at Goddard's and has come a long way as she now has her fits under control. The staff are very friendly and helpful and they all know Summer. They are a little more expensive than some other vets but the treatment is very good, and as long as you have pet insurance it shouldn't be a problem.


Reviewed by: Jo on 07/08/2015

Overall rating:


“Excellent care”

Andy the vet and the rest of the team were amazing when we had to rush our rabbit Linda in for emergency GI stasis surgery (at 7am on a Saturday morning). The team took excellent care of her and despite the surgery being extremely risky she pulled through and has made an excellent recovery. We are so so grateful - it was expensive but worth every penny. We also had to rush our other rabbit in on the Monday morning (this time at 6am!) with similar symptoms and Andy took us straight through and was really helpful and understanding and quickly gave her pain relief and sorted out the meds we needed to give her. Thanks so much!


Reviewed by: Bee on 22/07/2015

Overall rating:



Reviewed by: Tommy owner on 08/07/2015

Overall rating:


“Thank you”

I want to say a HUGE thank you to Mr Andrew Holloway for the way he treated my yorkshire terrier when he had his CT scan. He spent a lot of time explaining about his condition. I was truly impressed and I appreciate his work and effort. Thank you again!

I am really sorry I don't know the name of the most friendly and helpful receptionist from Wanstead. She was working on Friday, 3rd of July in the afternoon. Thank you again.

R Manole, owner of Tommy


Reviewed by: Doris on 24/06/2015

Overall rating:


“Grateful, but ...”

My cat was brought in to the vet's recently, and just like the last time she was ill, was treated with great care by the vet. However, my main problem here is the cost. They didn't know what was wrong with the cat, and ran many many tests to find the problem, including for conditions for which she showed no symptoms whatsoever. I am trying not be cynical about this.

I am very grateful for the care, believe me, and the fact they probably kept my cat alive, but the cost of one week's care was £2400. That is more than my monthly wage and I had to borrow the money until the insurers refund me (probably a month from now.) What if I didn't have insurance?

Dr Thomas Flynn
Clinical Director, Goddard Veterinary Group

Thank you for your feedback and for your appreciative comments on the high level of care which our vets were able to give to you and your cat. I am very glad to hear that your pet has recovered and I hope now remains well.
Unfortunately, there is no NHS for pets and a prolonged hospital stay involving investigations, intensive treatments and the best care possible can be very expensive, which is why we strongly advocate that pet owners ensure that they take out a good pet insurance policy. Failing this, we certainly do our best to work with a client's budget and help where we can.

In some cases where the diagnosis is not obvious and a pet is not displaying typical signs of a disease, or where the clinical signs are not specific but are common to a large number of different diseases, it may be necessary to run many tests. It is very difficult for me to comment further on the details of your pet's investigations without being able to identify your pet and review the clinical records, but if you would please care to contact me directly I would be very happy to do so.


Reviewed by: Tim on 23/04/2015

Overall rating:


“Excellent service”

Just wanted to drop you an email to say how happy I am with the service my dog receives from Shaun.

I visited the Wanstead branch over a year go due to an emergency and Lauren was so supportive understanding and caring. Shaun then operated on Omar (aka Roman). The after care service was second to non and felt he really went the extra mile to make sure Roman received the right after care at home. All other vets I have been to before would not even touch Roman for a check up :-( Shaun has taken his time to get to know him. We popped in today for his annual jabs and a health check. Shaun spend a good deal of time with us doing a thorough check of him head to toe.

I have nothing but good words to say about your Wanstead branch.

Thank you again

Kind Regards

Tim Johnson


Reviewed by: Nina on 25/03/2015

Overall rating:


“Angry Emily”

I brought my cat Emily in for an emergency and I was kept informed of costs and procedures throughout the process. I was very upset and the team showed me kindness and have called me each day to u p date.As I travelled quite far I was helped in the night and reassured that Emily would get the help she needed. She is an angry cat but the team have looked as after her. Big thanks to everyone who looked after her :-)