Medivet Canvey Island

Website: http://www.medivet.co.uk/practice-finder/essex/canvey-island/
Email: canvey.island@medivet.co.uk
Tel: 01268 511905

199 Furtherwick Road
Canvey Island
Essex SS8 7BW

Map

 

Practice Details

Our branches provide a dedicated local service to clients, offering a comprehensive, quality service at affordable prices. Our branches can also provide access to 24 hour services via our linked Southend 24hr Continuous Care and Emergency Centre.

As a part of the Medivet family, your pet will have the benefit of the skills and experience of over 200 vets throughout the company. Our staff aim to provide a welcoming and professional environment for both pet and client.

We offer both diagnostic and surgical care as well as a wealth of additional benefits to keep your pet happy and healthy.

Average Rating

Medivet Canvey Island Based on 20 rating(s)s
4.3
Best possible rating: 5
Average rating: 4.3
Write a review - click here

Vet Practice Reviews

Reviewed by: Chanelle newell on 26/11/2015

Overall rating:

5

“thank you so much to the staff ”

My bearded dragon of 5 years old bubbles had became poorly. For a week i rung so many different vets, wickford/orsett/upminster ect all that told me id have to pay a minimum of £50 for a consultation, then xrays/blood samples, ect all are added prices as well as paying for threatment also, even when explaining i was struggling at the moment none showed me an ounce of compassion. I found medivet which had the cheapeast prices.
They got my baby in the next day, they gave her xrays which showed she had a tumour..obviously i was absolutely devestated as it was non treatable. They advised she was put to sleep, for her sake i went with that although heartbroken. I sat in the waiting room sobbing, they brought me tissues, they offered me a drink, then they brought me my sleeping bubbles, in a very sweet box to bury her in.
I looked inside and she looked peaceful, out of pain, they had wrapped her neatly up in towel paper and left her head out on show, showed me how caring these staff are..they wasnt to know i would open the box and she was placed so neatly inside.
The subject is still sore, i feel like ive lost a big part of my home, my daughter is broken too..but we have buried bubbles under out blossom tree, each year when it blossoms were think of her.
Im writing this as i see a previous review stating the vet just want money..after me trying to find the cheapest but high standard vets i gave up..medivets could of told me my dragon needed stool samples/blood samples/ xrays medication and a new appointment ect..all i was prepared to pay to help her,they didnt. They was honest, caring & compassionate. They charged me 21 consultation, 10 for a xray.
I gave them £40 and said keep the change for a donation even then the staff member said oh no are you sure! ..they 100% could of had 100s from me that day.
So to round this up ..sad loss for me but id 100% return to this vet if any of my other animals were ill.
100% perfect.

 

Reviewed by: Suzanne on 05/10/2015

Overall rating:

5

“very caring in professional ”

took my bitch in today to be spayed and they staff were great and they looked after my girl brilliantly will always trust the girls there to always do what's best for the animals to the highest standards :) xx

 

Reviewed by: Lizzy King on 23/09/2015

Overall rating:

5

“Thank You Lizzy”

Just wanted to say you have put my mind at rest when we brought our new addition Herbie to see you today,
Yes he has been a bit naught since we got him last Thursday but felt a lot better after speaking to you and getting your advice.
So pleased we have taken up with the health Pet Plan too for Molly and Herbie

Carole,x

 

Reviewed by: Angela Killick on 02/06/2015

Overall rating:

5

“Proffesional and sympathetic”

Apart from a budgie at the age of 5 and several chickens later on in life - My Westie -' Jock ' was and has been my only pet. I say pet - more like best friend - companion - and basically my special boy.So after a short illness in May - quickly diagnosed by Lizzie - I find myself without him now. He never suffered for which Im glad - he was a tough little cookie. But - the way his illness was discovered -and the way Lizzie relayed and explained it to me has made the whole awful experience - bearable. She is a credit to her profession - as are the all the girls who assist her at the practice.
His last few moments on this earth were dignified and calm. Lizzie spoke in such a gentle soft voice which I will never forget.
Thank you with all my heart in all you have done for him - you are worth your weight in gold. xx

 

Reviewed by: jan on 07/12/2014

Overall rating:

4.8

“BRILLIANT”

I would like to thank the vets and all the nursing staff at medivet for their commitment and dedication when dealing with my many pets, they have gone above and beyond the call of duty on many occasions, cannot fault them, would never use any other vets.

 

Reviewed by: Pete on 21/11/2014

Overall rating:

1.8

“Absolute Disgrace”

My puppy was taken here by a friend of mine as I was at work.
I spoke to the vet and she said my options were....
1, Leave her overnight for treatment, but no guarantee she would be OK.
2, Take her home with some medication. She might see the night out.
I decided to leave her overnight for treatment. 5 minutes later I get left a voice mail saying that I need to ring back to pay a deposit before treatment could be started.
I was unable to Pay a deposit until I got home in about 2 hours time.
The poor thing was obviously very unwell and in discomfort, so rather than her having to be like this for another 2 hours I made a decision for her to be put to sleep.
This vet was only worried about the money and had no regard for the welfare of the pup.

Medivet Canvey Island

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, and discussing this matter with us. At Medivet we always strive to treat all pets as if they are our own. When deciding how to progress with a pets' course of treatment there are many factors we have to consider. We would just like to stress again how sorry we are that your puppy had to be put to sleep, whilst we always make a recommendation about a pets' course of treatment, we will always leave the final decision to the owner.

Our clients' feedback is really important to us as it allows us to continually grow and improve our level of service.

 

Reviewed by: NICKY on 28/10/2014

Overall rating:

5

“MADGE”

I WOULD LIKE TO THANK LIZZIE AND HER STAFF FOR ALL THE CARE THEY HAVE SHOWN MY LOVELY GREYHOUND MADGE OVER THE LAST FEW YEARS. SHE HAS HAD QUITE A FEW PROBLEMS IN HER LIFE BUT THE STAFF HAVE ALWAY BEEN CARING COMPASSIONATE AND HAVE ALWAYS PUT OUR MINDS AT REST,I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PRACTICE TO ANYONE WHO LOVES THEIR PETS AS YOU WILL NOT FIND BETTER.

 

Reviewed by: Lydia on 25/07/2014

Overall rating:

5

“Friendly and understanding ”

Fantastic vets called up at 8am because my daughters hamster had got poorly over night. They fitted me in that morning and I was seen by 9am. Sadly the hamster had a tumour and had to be put to sleep. However I was never made to feel that just because I had a hamster not a dog or cat we weren't important. The vet explained all my options with me was very clear with outcomes and costs up front . They were very understanding and never rushed me. Wish they had been in the island when I had my dog.

 

Reviewed by: semilore on 03/04/2014

Overall rating:

5

“brillant vet, and staff”

thanks you for being so caring when my beautiful cat narla had to be put to sleep, lizzie the vet was so caring and kind she advised me it was the best thing to do with my cat, would definetly recommend this vet practise, all staff are very kind and caring

 

Reviewed by: beryl boult on 10/05/2013

Overall rating:

1

“would not go there again”

I would not go to this practise again, I took my dog Lilly to have her nails cut, they were the same as when I went in, So I wasted my time and money going to this vets. I feel this practise does not do what you ask them to do.

Medivet

We are sorry you were disappointed by our levels of service. We have reviewed your case and note the vet advised the need for more regular nail clips rather than a once off radically trimming. At the time of Lillys visit, a radical clip would have exposed the nails sensitive quick which would have made a radical clipping painful to her and probably distressing to you.

beryl boult

If this had been explained to me about my dogs nails, I would have known, but clearly a lack of communication on your part.