Bath Veterinary Group - Rosemary Lodge Veterinary Hospital

Wellsway
Bath
BA2 5RL

General

Bath Veterinary Group provides affordable and the best care for your pet 24-hours a day.  Combining the convenience and continuity of qualified vets and nurses at your local surgery backed up with the support of Rosemary Lodge Veterinary Hospital, the group provides exceptional care for your pet.  All our surgeries are accredited by the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons and the hospital is the only practice in Bath and the surrounding area to achieve the highest;  Tier 3, hospital standard.  Rosemary Lodge Veterinary Hospital is home to Bath Veterinary Referrals.

Clinic reviews

5 Stars - 08-09-2016 - Terry

We couldn't be more impressed by and appreciative for the way that all of the staff at Rosemary Lodge approached the problem that our Spaniel, Millie, was suffering. The administrative staff showed respect and professionalism to both our Millie and to my wife and me. They recognised the relationship and bond that owner and pet have. The medical team, equally, showed the same empathy, as well as displaying their professional expertise in diagnosing and treating Millie. We were given full and clear explanations of her condition and her treatment. We are very lucky to have a professional and responsive facility for our pets.

1.6 Stars - 16-07-2016 - Erigeron

Prior to my referral appointment, I received a call advising that the practise charges £25.00 for handing insurance claims that are paid directly to them. I said I would be paying the bill myself. On arrival at the practise, reception was chaotic, unfriendly and unprofessional. I had hardly sat down before being asked to pay the £25.00 handling fee despite having previously advised them I would be paying the bill myself. My cat was in for the day. I have no issue with the veterinary care and both vets telephoned me with updates and information when they promised. However, I do have an issue with just about everything else at this practise. When I paid the bill, I asked if it was complete and was assured it was. Shortly after I got home, though, I received a call to say they had undercharged me and I had another £150.00+ to pay. My cat is insured so, before leaving, I had handed my completed insurance claim form to the receptionist. I had ticked the box for my insurer to pay me and even provided a stamped addressed envelope. All the practise had to do was add their information and send it off. However, they sent it to my insurance company electronically with instructions to pay them and not me. My insurer duly obliged. I lodged a complaint with the practise manager. I received a verbal apology and, a few days later, a refund of their incorrect claim. However, I will not be returning.

Vet Response

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my apologies for any upset or inconvenience caused by our administrative error. I am genuinely very sorry that you had reason to be unhappy with certain aspects of our service, but I am pleased that you were happy with the veterinary care. If you do wish to discuss any of these issues further, please do contact me at the hospital. Helen Biggadike, Practice Manager
19-07-2016

5 Stars - 15-07-2016 - Paula & Del Millard

Our dog Oakley was admitted to this hospital, and we believe he received the best care anyone could wish for. The staff were friendly, and caring, always happy to help. And we were lucky to have an outstanding vet in Mr Jon Shippam. From our first meeting with Jon, we found him to be a very caring man, and throughout our Oakleys stay at the hospital', he informed us of what was happening, every step of the way,which was invaluable to us. We cannot thank Jon and all the staff, including the night shift staff, whose professionalism never faltered. We will always remember them .As will Oakley who is now back to his old self. Paula Del and Oakley Millard

5 Stars - 08-06-2016 - Ann Burnett

I've given this practice 5*...Very pleased overall with everything..Staff are friendly and nothing seems to much trouble...Particularly happy with the professionalism of our Vet Jon Shippam..good sound advice and everything was explained in a manner we understood...He had time for us and respect for us and our dogs..highly recommend this Veterinary practice ..thank you!

4.8 Stars - 02-03-2016 - mojosmummy

this animal hospital is the best as far as im concerned,they saved my cats life twice now,im forever grateful to them,other vets are only interested in the money aspect,but this vet hospital goes out of their way to make sure the animals are cared for respectfully,i wont take my cats to any other hospital ever again,rosemary lodge are the bom diggity ....

5 Stars - 19-12-2015 - jethro

hi, i would just like to tell you all,how very happy i feel about the way we were treated,you all have great customer skill s,i just want to give Alister my heart felt thank's for the wonderful job he did on jethro, it took a long time to heal, but it was worth the wait!my greatful thank's to you all,and i would like to wish you all,a merry christmas & a happy new year,THANK YOU ALL. regards Elaine

4.4 Stars - 07-12-2015 - LL

Thanks to everyone at Rosemary Lodge but a special thank you to Alisdair and Sabele for their wonderful care of Bruiser and to all the staff who cared for him - it was a difficult two weeks but we appear to have turned the corner! I am so grateful that I still have my "boy" with me and in all honesty it was worth every penny to have him back home!

5 Stars - 20-08-2015 - Gilly Vaulkhard

I would like to thank Amelia (Vet) at Rosemary Lodge for helping Florence to cope with her fears of nail clipping. She talked with me beforehand on the telephone in order to discuss the best method of treatment - and recommended Zylkene to take before Florence's visit. And her gentle and approach throughout our visit was wonderful - and truly helped Florence. I would also like to thank Caroline (Reception) who very kindly brought me the Zylkene on her way home - this was such a terrific kindness and a way beyond the line of duty. Thank you from Florence too x

2.8 Stars - 29-06-2015 - Miss Jewell

Whilst there is no doubt that the Vets are extremely skilled and the nurses are exceptionally kind and helpful, as a whole this practice puts money before the animals. I have been registered at this practice for a few years with my greyhound who has a common problem (partially ripping a claw and then requiring an anesthetic to completely remove it). When I last took him, I was required to pay a deposit of £100 which is fair enough I guess but when I went to pick him up after surgery, I was demanded to pay the remainder of the balance (another £140) before I was even allowed to see my dog. I could understand this if I was a new patient, had bad credit history or previous problems paying a bill. As a semi-regular, it's disgusting and patronising to be treated this way especially as my mum is spending over £500 a month with her rescue animals at this practice and they are well aware that we are related. Unfortunately they have the monopoly but I would like to move my business to an independent if possible.

Vet Response

I am sorry that your greyhound needed to have his dew claw removed and I am sorry to hear that you feel we put too much emphasis on asking you for payment. We have a standard protocol for patients admitted to hospital which includes: * ensuring you have an accurate estimate for treatment before you give consent for the treatment to be given; * asking for a hospital admit fee, usually £150, to be paid when you admit your pet to hospital assuming your estimate for treatment exceeds this amount; * providing you with updates on your pet's progress during their stay in hospital and discussing with you any changes in treatment plan and ongoing costs if necessary; * asking you for payment in full before you collect your pet to go home unless you have arranged to make a direct insurance claim for treatment and have left us all the necessary paperwork. At the hospital, we see many patients every day and our reception team are asked to follow these guidelines for all clients including our valued, regular clients like yourself and your Mum. On the day of discharge, settling the bill and completing any paperwork before you see the vet or nurse usually makes the process simpler for you too, as once you have reunited with your pet you are then able to leave immediately without having to wait at reception again. However, if you have a particular reason to see your pet before paying the bill this should usually be possible. I am sorry if you felt that this procedure was inappropriate and I am happy to discuss this with you personally if you would like to contact me directly at Rosemary Lodge. Despite this I am pleased that you found our vets extremely skilled and our nurses exceptionally kind and helpful.
22-07-2015

4.8 Stars - 10-04-2015 - Tess

A year ago I had the misfortune of having my two pet ducks attacked by a dog. We rushed them both to Rosemary Lodge, not really knowing if they could help. Sadly, one had to be put down, which they did in a respectful manner. The other had to have surgery and lots of after care which they did for a very reasonable price, and they knew a lot about birds which was great. Although my pet was not a usual animal such as a cat or dog, she was treated so well and they understood and respected how much she meant to me. She is now a very happy and healthy duck again. I found this website today, and felt that it would be useful to leave a review just in case other poultry owners in the area are looking for great care.

Show me more posts